You are here
Home > Arizona State > Sun Devils are headed to the WCHL

Sun Devils are headed to the WCHL

Fallback Image

At the start of the 2013-2014 season, Arizona State hockey will be playing as a charter member of the Western Collegiate Hockey League (WCHL) – the ACHA’s newest division 1 league. The news was announced on Tuesday as part of a press release by the ACHA.

The Sun Devils will be accompanied by Arizona, Central Oklahoma and Oklahoma, all of which are currently Division 1 teams. Division 2 teams University of Colorado and Colorado State will jump to Division 1 next season, and will also be a part of the WCHL.

ASU currently plays as an Independent in the ACHA, which means that they do not belong to any particular league. Next year, there will be 16 scheduled WCHL games. ASU will play in-state rival Arizona four times, and the rest of the other teams three times each.

On Thursday, the Sun Devils will travel to face off against future WCHL rivals Central Oklahoma.

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply